The Night Shift’s 40 Favourite Records of 2014

The Night Shift is a program which focuses on music that is both sexy and experimental. It is hosted by Luca Capone every Friday night from 12:00am-2:00am on CHRY 105.5FM

40.    Lorelle Meets The Obsolete – Chambers (Captcha Records) http://obsoletelorelle.bandcamp.com/album/chambers

39.    Jae R – Yard Sale 3 (Black Jungle Squad) http://yellowmaskcxllective.bandcamp.com/album/yard-sale-3

38.    Living Room – Stasis* http://livingroomca.bandcamp.com/releases

37.    Fist Full O’ Snacks – Climb the Glass Mountain* (Independent) http://fistfullosnacks.bandcamp.com/

36.    Twigs & Yarn – Language of Flowers (Flau Records) http://flau.bandcamp.com/album/the-language-of-flowers

35.    The Unquiet Grave – Whispers In The Wind* (Arachnidiscs) http://arachnidiscs.bandcamp.com/album/whispers-in-the-wind

34.     Peripheral Living – Experimental Lakes* (Power Moves Label) http://powermoveslabel.bandcamp.com/album/experimental-lakes

33.    Polar Bear – In Each And Every One (Leaf) http://polarbearmusic.bandcamp.com/album/in-each-and-every-one

32.   Black Walls – Communion* (Pleasence Records) http://blackwalls.bandcamp.com/album/communion

31.    Doomsquad – Kalaboogie* (Hand Drawn Dracula) http://doomsquad.bandcamp.com/album/kalaboogie

30.    Dustin Wong & Takako Minekawa – Savage Imagination (Thrill Jockey) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bQ6vmA0ZTZI

29.    Missing Organs – Undiscovered (Power Moves Label) http://powermoveslabel.bandcamp.com/album/undiscovered

28.    Avec le Soleil Sortant de sa Bouche – Zubberdust!* (Constellation Records) http://cstrecords.com/cst106/

27.    War On Drugs – Lost In The Dream (Secretly Canadian) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lost_in_the_Dream

26.    Monomyth – Saturnalia Regalia* (Mint Records) http://mmyth.bandcamp.com/album/saturnalia-regalia

25.    Bile Sister – Faucet* (Healing Power Records) http://bilesister.bandcamp.com/album/faucet

24.    Taylor McFerrin – Early Riser (Brainfeeder) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Early_Riser_%28album%29

23.    Odonis Odonis – Hard Boiled Soft Boiled* (Buzz Records) http://odonisodonis.bandcamp.com/album/hard-boiled-soft-boiled

22.    Hundred Waters – Moon Rang Like A Bell (OWSLA) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hundred_Waters#The_Moon_Rang_Like_a_Bell

21.    Whoop-Szo – Niizhwaaswo* (Out Of Sound Records) http://outofsoundrecords.bandcamp.com/album/whoop-szo-niizhwaaswo 

20.    Chicago Underground Duo – Locus (Northern Spy Records) http://northernspyrecords.bandcamp.com/album/locus-2

19.    Juan Wauters –North American Poetry (Captured Tracks) http://www.capturedtracks.com/shop/_ct-release/ct-190-juan-wauters-n-a-p-north-american-poetry-lpcd/

18.    Chad VanGaalen – Shrink Dust* (Flemish Eye/Sub Pop) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shrink_Dust

17.    Lord Raja – A Constant Moth (Ghostly International) http://www.ghostly.com/releases/a-constant-moth

16.    Woods – With Light and with Love (Woodsist) http://www.woodsist.com/woods/

15.    Dirty Spells – Teeth* (Independent) http://dirtyspells.bandcamp.com/

14.    Milo – A Toothpaste Suburb (Hellfyre Club) http://hellfyreclub.bandcamp.com/album/a-toothpaste-suburb

13.    Tonstartssbandht – Overseas (Company Etc / Arbutus Records ) http://tonstartssbandht.bandcamp.com/album/overseas

12.    Elrichman – Young, Healthy, & Wonderful * (Pleasence Records) http://www.pleasencerecords.com/releases/young-comma–healthy-comma–and-wonderful-

11.    Jay Holy – Scopolamine Dream* (Reel Cod Records) http://jayholy.bandcamp.com/album/scopolamine-dream

10.    Man meets Bear – Waagaaskingaa* (Label Fantastic) http://labelfantastic.com/new-release-man-meets-bear-releases-waagaaskingaa/

9.       Elaquent – Green Apples & Oranges * (Urbnet) http://urbnet.bandcamp.com/album/green-apples-and-oranges

8.       KEN PARK- You Think About It Too Much* (Daps Records) http://dapsrecords.bandcamp.com/album/ken-park-you-think-about-it-too-much

7.       Each Other – Being Elastic* (Lefse Records) http://lefserecords.bandcamp.com/album/each-other-being-elastic

6.       Flying Lotus – You’re Dead (Warp Records) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/You%27re_Dead!

5.       Tanya Tagaq – Animism* (Six Shooter Records) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Animism_%28Tanya_Tagaq_album%29

4.       Absolutely Free – Absolutely Free* (Arts & Crafts) http://www.arts-crafts.ca/artistspage.php?search=Absolutely%20Free

3.       SlowPitch – Dimly Lit Existence* (What Rules Recordings) http://slowpitch.bandcamp.com/album/dimly-lit-existence

2.       Ought – More Than Any Other Day*  (Constellation Records) (CD) http://cstrecords.com/cst103/

1.       Timber Timbre – Hot Dreams* (Arts & Crafts) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hot_Dreams

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: